Skip to main content

On average, it takes more than 2 months before a new behavior becomes automatic — 66 days to be exact.

This is what one study showed, conducted by Phillipa Lally, and published in the European Journal of Social Psychology.  

The study also says that it greatly depends on the person (of course), the circumstances, and the behavior.  

Habit: A settled or regular tendency or practice, especially one that is hard to give up.

I have been making exercise a habit since March, earlier this year.  A habit, as in at least 5 times a week, during one program 6 days.  I think the longest I have taken a break in the last 8 months was a week or two, cause hey, life happens.  It has improved every aspect in my life physically, mentally, and emotionally.

I used to be that coworker that would fall asleep at her desk.  Seriously, I felt like I was back in high school in biology class, which I had right after lunch, with the monotone teacher (sorry Mr. Clark).  You know the feeling when you just cannot stay awake for the life of you.  That was me.  Until I made exercise part of my daily routine.

I know, "I do not have time to exercise 5 days a week or even 4, this woman must not have kids."  Well I do, in case you haven't read back a few years.  I also have a full time job and cook at home just about every single night.  When you practice something over and over,  consistently, it's AMAZING how well versed you will become in making everything else fall into place around it.

Let's take cooking for an example.  You have a new recipe.  You try it and after you finish you think, "if I would have done _____ it would have been easier".  So the next time you make that recipe again you find it easier, maybe it even tastes a little better, and after a few more tries you find it's not a pain in the butt to make anymore.  It's really not rocket science.  It's called excuses and there shouldn't be any excuse when it comes to taking care of yourself.

I have also heard to not take off more than 3 days consecutively.  I can see some truth in this.  When I take a few days off I get grouchy and moody.  And then I'll start feeling that I don't even want to workout when before I looked forward to it.  This is when I fall into a week going by without working out.  Then I think "What am I doing??!! I have worked so hard to make this a lifestyle and work it into my daily routine to just quit?!"  Heck no, I finally tell myself and get back to it. 

Another article on "The Daily Burn" website stated that just after 14 days of "easing up on your workouts" you can begin to lose muscle mass and cardiovascular endurance.  Keep that in mind when you're not pushing or starting to slack on yourself. 

If you're trying to get into a routine or feel like you're slacking, please keep at it.  We all have the same amount of time it's just how each of us utilize it.

 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Faith and speculation

I am so glad the weekend is over with! It was a bad one. Chris, my husband, lost his grandmother over the weekend. We were all very close to her and it was very sudden and unexpected. We just saw her last weekend and I think it hasn't truly became a reality yet. She was a wonderful woman and will greatly be missed. It's so amazing how things can change in the matter of minutes. I know most of you have experienced this in many different ways. Some, unfortunately more tragically than others. It's just a reminder that we are not in control of the big picture. When I was a very young girl I remember attending church. Really, attending Sunday school. Which, mostly consisted of arts and crafts with a little lesson to go along with it. Before I was old enough to think for myself and really understand what the Bible was all about, we stopped going to church. I have always believed in God and the Bible, but I've never studied it all. I always just called myself a believer. When ...

Pills...pills...more pills?!

As I mentioned a while back, I went to the OB/GYN doctor on the fourth of August. He ran some blood work to see my progesterone , FSH and LH levels.They all came back showing the classic signs of PCOS . But, I have a great doctor and he is determined to get me ovulating regularly. He says I obviously don't have a problem getting pregnant, since I've been there twice before, it's just my ovulation is out of whack. Yes, I said twice before. In February we found out that I was pregnant again, four days later I lost it. I was only five weeks along. We didn't tell our families just a few close friends. Anyway, after the test results came back my doctor started me on Metformin . I've heard of women with PCOS taking this because of insulin resistance and it helps them to regulate, but he told me that it would help decrease the risk of a miscarriage. So I started that on the eleventh. Aunt flow decided not to show up this month so he prescribed me Prometrium (progesteron...

Rewind

I take back what I said yesterday. My life is not going back together...I kind of had a break down at work today. After that post yesterday, it all started going downhill. Can we say rollarcoaster much? ugh! When will I be "normal" again? I know I will never be the person I was a year ago, which is fine...but, when will all of the... I'm good.... Not so good.... I think I could curl up and die.... Oh, no I'm alright.... Why can't I have my daughter... Oh, no I can handle looking at a baby.... Get that baby away from me... stop?